Is Coconut Oil Healthy? The Controversy Explained

You probably read the recent headlines…

“Coconut oil isn’t healthy. It’s never been healthy” ~ USA Today
“Nutrition experts warn coconut oil is on par with beef fat, butter” ~ Chicago Tribune
“This popular health food is worse for you than pork lard” ~ Daily Star
“Coconut Oil Isn’t As Healthy As We Thought, According To Depressing New Study” ~ Elite Daily
And wondering to yourself “What the heck is going on?”… “I thought coconut oil was healthy”…”Crap, coconut oil is another fake health fad?”

Well you are not alone, it seems the entire Internet freaked out at this “news” and for good reason.

As you can probably imagine, my email and phone has been blowing up about all this – even my Mom sent me a text wondering if it was true. I know it’s frustrating when there is so much conflicting health information being fired at us from all directions. How can we know what to believe? How can we know we’re getting accurate advice? Who should we listen to? How can we expect to get healthy?

It’s no secret that coconut oil is a regular part of my diet and I consider it one of the best oils to consume period. (I even partnered with the top organic coconut oil on the market as a result). Not everyone agrees with me, and that’s fine. But I’d be remiss if I didn’t remind you to all be very careful about health advice reported in the media – because some well-meaning reporters fall for basic industry tricks like this one that has just happened.<!–more–>

Add a Prayer or Comment

