Women Are Looking For . . . ?

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give [her] will never thirst.  Indeed, the water I give [her] will become in [her] a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  John 4:13-14

Most American women are decent. Caring. Hardworking. In many ways we are the backbone of our nation. I am quite certain we are the backbone of the Christian church. Yet I’m alarmed.  We are under attack.  And we seem to be unaware of it.

Could it be that our careers, jobs, families, material possessions, education, technology, travel, entertainment, and whatever else we could name, have kept us so busy that we are not paying attention? Could it be also that none of the things we’re involved in have filled the emptiness inside? Are we getting entangled in more and more causes–political and social, local and national–because we are looking for…what? For purpose? Meaning? Fulfillment?  Satisfaction? Happiness? Whatever it is seems to be illusive, so we try harder. Yell louder.  Demonstrate more…[read more]

One thought on “Women Are Looking For . . . ?

  1. Seems we get trapped in the lie. I was so thankful for the job I was blessed with and worked hard so that everyone would think we’ll of me. As a single mother of 2 and no one to rely on I felt pressure to keep pushing harder to succeed. I did it for my kids! Yet, seemed I worked more than being a mother. Now, still feel trapped. By my own cause and no one else to blame. You make more then spend more.
    Yes, we are always seeking for our ‘significance’. We simply keep looking in the wrong places and are so busy with it all we don’t realize it until life has passed us by.

    Like

Comments are closed.