Pastor’s son lived with a drag queen, but God’s truth led him out of gay lifestyle

His father was a Southern Baptist minister with Elvis sideburns. As the oldest of four, he dutifully attended church with his family in Tennessee.

“Around the age of seven I felt a leading to give my life to Jesus,” George Carneal recounts in his book,From Queer to Christ: My Journey Into the Light. After professing his faith in front of the congregation, his father baptized him.

Shy and effeminate, by fourth grade he was already being called names at school like “sissy,” “queer,” and “faggot.” He was picked last for sports teams. He preferred to hang out with the girls and jump rope or play jacks.

As he got older, bullying became a constant. “I even got teased about the way I walked and carried my books (close to my chest).” School became a matter of survival for him…. [read more]

Add a Prayer or Comment

